The Medals
View Military Medals
   DOT 9-11 Ribbon
Service: DHS
Instituted: 11 September 2001
Authorized: COMDTINST M1650.25D
Issuing Country: ( US ) - UNITED STATES
DOT 9-11 Ribbon
Back of Medal

Eligibility Requirements. Awarded to an individual serving in any capacity within the DOT, Merchant Marines, or other civilians, for an act or service that contributed to recovery from the attacks of 11 September 2001, force protection following the attacks, or efforts that directly contributed to the increased infrastructure security effort between 11 September 2001 and 11 September 2002. The award may be made posthumously and the decoration and certificate presented to the next of kin with an appropriate ceremony. New recommendations for the 9/11 Ribbon are not authorized. Specifically, it may be awarded to the following authorized personnel:

  • (1) Coast Guard units that shifted Operational Control (OPCON) to Operations ENDURING FREEDOM, NOBLE EAGLE, or PROTECTING LIBERTY for any amount of time between 11 September 2001 and 11 September 2002.
  • (2) All personnel involved in patrolling harbors, critical infrastructure facilities, escorting high-interest vessels, and conducting boardings of vessels entering U.S. waters during the period of 11 September 2001 and 11 September 2002. Participation in these operations must be no less than 14 days.
  • (3) All personnel, to include active, reserve, auxiliary, and civilian personnel, that manned or augmented for no less than 14 days, Coast Guard, DOT, FEMA and DoD command centers (including Operations Centers at CG Groups and above; COTP ICS, FEMA Regional Operations Centers, and VTS) between 11 September 2001 and 11 September 2002.